Sunapee Driving School Policies

Eligibility for Driver Education:

All students must be 15 years and 9 months old before the first day of class. At 15 1/2 students may legally drive in the State of New Hampshire if accompanied by a licensed driver at least 25 years of age. They must have a copy of their birth certificate with them. New Hampshire residents learning to drive may not drive out of state.New Hampshire law requires that a student under 18 years old complete a driver education course consisting of 30 hours of classroom instruction, 10 hours of behind-the-wheel driving and 6 hours of in-vehicle observation, Prior to the Division of Motor Vehicles test, students must completed a 40-hour out of driving log to record all driving done outside of driver education class, of which 10 hours must be at night. This log may be started when the student becomes 15 1/2. Sunapee Driving School has attached this form in the packet. This form may also be obtained prior to the start of class at any New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicle station.

 

Classroom Requirements:

  1. The cost of the class is $600. Payment can be made in three installments. The deposit is $50 and is due with the application (this reserves a place in that class unless it is full). The second payment is $275 and is due at or before the first class. The final payment is due by the fifth class.

  2. No classroom instruction shall be missed during the course, except for good cause, which includes a death in the family or personal injury. Absences due to good cause shall not exceed 4 hours. (Saf-C 3114.04(e)) Any classroom session missed due to good cause pursuant to (e) above shall be made up with assignments equivalent to the missed lesson. Students absent from class must see the instructor for required make up work.

  3. If students are absent from school due to any reason (illness or suspension) they are not to attend class or drive during the time of absence. This policy is done on the honor system.

  4. If Sunapee School District cancels school for any reason, class and driving will be cancelled that day/evening. It will be rescheduled for a later date.

  5. Students will be provided with a DMV manual, all necessary paperwork for the class and a textbook. Textbooks need to be returned in good condition or textbook replacement fee will be paid before students will receive a driver education completion certificate.

  6. Students need to come prepared to class with the textbook, driver manual, writing utensil, and a folder.

  7. Students must pass a final exam. Those students not passing may retake the test 10 days later.

  8. Class participation is mandatory. All homework assignments and quizzes must be completed as part of class participation.

  9. All students must complete 10 hours of behind-the-wheel driving and 6 hours of observation. Any scheduled driving times missed without a 12-hour notification will result in a $40.00 rescheduling fee.

  10. There will be no refunds after 6 hours of classroom or 2 hours of driving time have been completed.

  11. The initial deposit will be refunded or credited to the next class if a student drops from the class before this time. Parent or student must notify Sunapee Driving School prior the first class to receive the refund of their deposit.

  12. Appropriate behavior is required at all times (classroom instruction and behind the wheel instruction). Inappropriate behavior may result in being removed from the class.

  13. Students must be able to pass an eye chart exam at the DMV with a vision of 20/40 to qualify for a New Hampshire driver's license. Please bring any necessary glasses or contacts to classes and driving lessons.

  14. There will be a $30.00 fee charged on all returned checks.

  15. Students will receive a Driver Education Certificate of Completion by completing the following:

  • Full payment for the class.

  • Textbook needs to be returned in good condition or a replacement fee will be charged to replace it.

  • All homework or class assignments are completed with a 70%.

  • Pass the final exam with a 70%.

  • Complete 10 hours of driving and 6 hours of observation.

Sunapee Driving School

30 Chippendale Drive

Sunapee NH 03782

603-359-4779

e-mail - Steven Longtin best method of contact